Old Town Hall (Staroměstská radnice)
Old Town Hall in Prague was founded in 1338 (the first in the Czech Republic) based on the privileges granted to the burghers Old King John of Luxembourg. It consists of a complex of several buildings adjacent to the Old Town Square gradually connected into one unit for the purpose of administration of the Old Town.
Historically, the first corner of the house is an early-Gothic building from the late 13th century, townspeople gathered from property wealthy merchant WOLFIN from Stone. Wolflinova dominant feature of the house is a massive square tower, increased in 1364 in this tower, built in 1381 building works of Peter Parler Gothic town hall chapel. In the early 15th century the same smelter joined the southern wall of Old Town Astronomical Clock Tower building.
After the year 1360 on the west side of the first house built to the second house, which was established by Councillor Hall. This Gothic hall with wooden ceiling is still used as a popular place for wedding ceremonies. In 1458 the southern wing of another home grown, home Mikšův built on Roman foundations, which Hall referred widow furrier Miks Kačka.
In the years 1805-1807 were placed on top of the tower clock and built a new walkway.
Another house on the south side, "U Rooster" was bought by the village hall and annexed in 1835 in this period was connected to the town hall and east wing hall serving gradually since the 14th century. Houses eastern wing but were soon demolished and in their place in the years 1838-1848 built by Viennese architects Peter Nobile and Paul Sprenger neo-Gothic wing. In 1880, Baum was the architect of neo-renaissance Mikšův house.
Fire of Hall
In the Prague uprising at the end of the second world war in 1945 served Old Town Hall as one of the headquarters of the anti-fascist resistance. In the immediate vicinity, fighting broke out between rebels and the German army, which led to major damage. The fire destroyed a wing of the point that remained was the perimeter wall. Severe damage suffered in the fire tower and also the Astronomical Clock.
In 1947 an architectural competition was held, which was to decide what to do with perimeter walls neo-gothic wings do. Finally, it was decided to demolish the wall and leave only one edge of the field, which was necessary for static security town hall tower.
Competitions for the completion of the Town Hall
During the 20th century, it was announced several architectural competitions for the reconstruction and completion of the Old Town Hall. The first competition was announced in two rounds already in 1899-1900. The assignment was that the former neo-Gothic wing retained, but its facade may change. The contest ended without a winner, like other similar competition from 1905 winner had to contest in 1908, but winning design was implemented. With larger or smaller time intervals then followed by further competition, which particularly from war fire aim to fill the space after demolition wing of the Town Hall. All but either ended without winners or winning proposals were not implemented.
Significant events associated with Old Town Hall
1338 founding Hall
1360 the construction of the second house
1381 completion and consecration of the Gothic town hall chapel
1410 start Astronomical Clock by Mikulas of Kadan
1422 execution of the radical leader of the Hussite Prague poor Jana Želivského
1458 purchase of the house Mikšova
1458 election of George Poděbrad Czech king
1520 location of Renaissance windows on the south facade
1621 execution of 27 Czech lords
1784 Hall headquartered associated Prague city administration
1807 hours and the location of new walkway to the tower
1848 completion of the neo-gothic wings
1880 reconstruction of the house Mikšova
1945 fire and burn neo-Gothic towers of the east wing
Tower height: 69.5 meters. : http://cs.wikipedia.org/wiki/Staroměstská_radnice
The width of the tower (south side): 8.37 m
Depth tower (east side): 7.91 m
Width Hall: 67.45 m